I Am Destined To Be An Achiever – Hope Story Of A Girl Child

The Mid-Day Meal Scheme in India is the world’s largest school meal programme. In the past more than two decades of its implementation, this scheme has remarkably impacted the education scenario in the country with regards to enrolment, attendance, and completion of school education. The objective of this scheme is to provide nutritious lunch to children in government schools and government-aided schools. Studies reveal that regular consumption of mid-day meals positively impacted health and learning outcomes of children.

The Mid-Day Meal Scheme in India has not only contributed to nutrition and education of children hailing from socio-economically weaker sections of the society, but also instilled hope and given wings to their aspirations.

This is one core reason why many NGOs totalling over 400 are implementing this scheme in their own capacities. Among them is The Akshaya Patra Foundation that has been nourishing children since 2000. This NGO in India has been consistently serving nutritious school meals with the aim to expand its reach to benefit more children. Currently, it provides daily school meals to 18,00,907 children studying in 19,039 government schools and government-aided schools across 60 locations in 14 States and 2 Union Territories.

“I am destined to be an achiever” – these words of determination
reflect the power of one nutritious meal per school day.

Meet Sneha, a 13-year-old beneficiary of Akshaya Patra studying in Standard VIII, M.P. Prathamika Pathashala in Telangana’s Mehboobnagar. For a child of her age, she is fearless, but that stems from hardships she has witnessed with a father who is an alcoholic. In her words, “My father comes home drunk every day. On the days when he does not return, I let my mother stay home and I go in search of him. It’s a dark and dingy place where he goes to drink, but I do not fear that place anymore. I am no more the timid girl who got shouted at by my father and helplessly watched my mother getting berated.”

After suffering silently for many years, Sneha received support from her teachers and friends. This gave her the strength to take a firm stand against her father and now she constantly reminds him of his responsibilities towards the family. This has made her father cautious of his actions. Sneha says, “My circumstances at home have taught me many lessons. It has made me an independent girl and I do not depend on my father or mother for anything. If I can walk seven kilometres daily to school, then I can do anything on my own.”

For Sneha, school is her getaway place where she finds the peace that’s missing at home and school meals are her energy boosters. She relishes her school meals with her friends and her all-time favourites are vegetable sambar and rice.

Talking about her aspiration, Sneha says, “I don’t want anybody to become like my father who left the family to suffer. Everyone needs a guide to tell or inspire them to do good or carry out their duties properly. That’s why I want to be a teacher. I want to guide children and mould them into better human beings. I want to teach them to perform their duties well.”

School is a place that children like Sneha look forward to every morning,
not just for education, but for support and nutrition too.

The Mid-Day Meal Scheme in India has been the key reason in bringing children from challenging backgrounds to school. Once at school, they get the opportunity to learn, eat nutritious food, and give shape to their ambitions.

Sneha was just one story of determination among lakhs. And as a mid-day meal NGO in India, Akshaya Patra wants to serve as many children as possible. Step in to support by instantly contributing an online donation. Your contribution will create an empowered generation by enabling children to achieve their ambitions and it will avail you tax exemption too (applicable for donations of ₹500 and above).

Leave a comment