What does it take to deliver a hygienic midday meal

I snoozed my alarm. I was still so sleepy and tired. It was probably the medicines that showed its effect on my body. I was still recovering from the last week’s fall at home.

Today is the first day I went after this incident.

So I decided to wake up even before the next alarm went off.

There was a sharp shooting pain in my left leg. I found it difficult to move from one place to another; walking to the bathroom took me a good 5 minutes. I was worried about how I will perform in the kitchen today.

I got dressed up and was ready to leave home by 4.30 in the morning. I do not fear contracting the virus, I am not worried because my company – The Akshaya Patra Foundation ensured my safety by arranging vaccination for all its employees.

I reached the kitchen premise.

And my drill began.

I stood in line to get my temperature checked.

One of my colleagues had a slightly higher temperature than what was accepted, so he was asked to go back home.

It was my turn; the security guy checked my temperature. He asked me how I was doing. I didn’t know even the security guy knew about the accident.

I moved ahead to sanitise my hand.

Everyone was smiling and asking about me, I felt like a celebrity!

I tied my hair into a bun and put on the headgear. We all were asked to do this every day without fail because this was a midday meal NGO, and hygiene is of utmost priority here. Whether employees work in a centralised kitchen or a decentralised kitchen, headgear, masks and gloves are compulsory. After I was geared up with the head cap, I went ahead to wash my hands.

As I was washing my hands with soap and humming a song, Thaayamma joined me. I missed her! She reminds me of my deceased aunt.

Thaayamma: Yenamma Sridevi! How are you feeling now?

Me: I am fine akka. I just find it difficult to walk and sit these days.

Thaayamma: Oh is it? Maybe we can talk to the Supervisor to give you a chair for a few days.

Me: Is that possible? It’s never happened before.

Thaayamma:  Don’t worry! Ours is a centralised kitchen, I am sure we can find a chair for you to work on.

She went out of her way to take permission from the Supervisor and help me sit on a chair for me to work on.

I love my job here at Akshaya Patra! Every individual is respected and taken care of.

Everyone was so welcoming; like I had come back from a long weekend. It makes me so happy to come here every single day.

I stretched my hands as I was going to begin work after a long gap of 4 days. My task for today was cutting Mangaluru cucumbers, while Thaayamma was assigned carrots, Sarita with drumsticks and the rest beans, onions and tomatoes. The menu for today was Krishnamruth sambar with steamed rice.

The cook was shouting around asking all of us to hurry up, else Akshaya Patra – a midday meal NGO would be late to serve midday meals to children. As the rice was being steamed and the supervisor was checking on the seasoning ingredients, we had visitors in the kitchen. I heard from others that they had contributed earlier, and wanted to donate online this year too, but wanted to check on the quality and hygiene of the centralised kitchen. I glanced around the room, the visitor was a woman.

The visitor was not wearing a head cap. We were not so worried but could not deny the fact that even a strand of hair in the kitchen would raise a red flag. The supervisor came forward and politely handed over the head cap to her which she obliged.

It was a relief!

One helper was assigned to wash the vegetables in flowing water, twice. He then moved all the cleaned and washed chopping boards, knives and utensils to all of us.

Can you imagine washing hundreds of kilos of rice, dals and other legumes every day?

For cooking this sambar for around 5000 primary children coming from poor sections of society, we use close to 115kgs of different types of dals. As I was lost in doing my work in a rhythmic manner along with others, we cut close to 150kgs of vegetables; I forgot about my pain. After almost an hour of cutting and chopping, we all were finally done for the day.

It was almost 5.45 in the morning. I could smell the dals cooking in the cauldrons. I am glad that I am a part of this organisation that feeds children who otherwise do not get to eat anything nutritious or wholesome in one day. I hope I get the strength to come to this kitchen every day, no matter what situation I am in or what virus hits society.

I will continue working for the betterment of children!

Conclusion

This is just a glimpse of what Sridevi’s day in the kitchen is; this goes on every single day. Employees of Akshaya Patra work tirelessly, day after another to ensure that young children are fed with hot and nutritious meals. Donate online to support this midday meal NGO that feeds 1.8 million children every day.

Leave a comment